NIRF 2025

Kerala University NIRF ranking 2026

Kerala University is a government institution in Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala. Its NIRF institution ID is U-0260.

This 2026 profile uses NIRF 2025 as the latest published ranking edition. The strongest listed 2025 result is University #25 with a score of 59.05. The latest edition contains 2 published categories: University and Overall.

The yearly tables run from newest to oldest. A smaller rank number represents a better position, and scores are out of 100; compare scores within the same category rather than across different NIRF categories.

Only categories in which Kerala University has a published NIRF rank for the respective year are listed below. An omitted category means no ranking row is available on this profile for that year.

Kerala University NIRF 2025 rankings

The smallest listed rank number in 2025 is University #25 with a score of 59.05. Compared with 2024, 2 moved to weaker positions. Rank and score can move in different directions because the final position also depends on other institutions in the category.

Category Rank Score Change from 2024
University 25 59.05 Declined by 4 places
Overall 42 56.26 Declined by 4 places

Kerala University NIRF 2024 rankings

The smallest listed rank number in 2024 is University #21 with a score of 58.48. Compared with 2023, 2 improved. Rank and score can move in different directions because the final position also depends on other institutions in the category.

Category Rank Score Change from 2023
University 21 58.48 Improved by 3 places
Overall 38 55.61 Improved by 9 places

Kerala University NIRF 2023 rankings

The smallest listed rank number in 2023 is University #24 with a score of 55.50. Compared with 2022, 2 improved. Rank and score can move in different directions because the final position also depends on other institutions in the category.

Category Rank Score Change from 2022
University 24 55.50 Improved by 16 places
Overall 47 52.75 Improved by 5 places

Kerala University NIRF 2022 rankings

The smallest listed rank number in 2022 is University #40 with a score of 49.80. Compared with 2021, 2 moved to weaker positions. Rank and score can move in different directions because the final position also depends on other institutions in the category.

Category Rank Score Change from 2021
University 40 49.80 Declined by 13 places
Overall 52 49.87 Declined by 9 places

Kerala University NIRF 2021 rankings

The smallest listed rank number in 2021 is University #27 with a score of 50.52. Compared with 2020, 2 moved to weaker positions. Rank and score can move in different directions because the final position also depends on other institutions in the category.

Category Rank Score Change from 2020
University 27 50.52 Declined by 4 places
Overall 43 48.87 Declined by 1 place

Kerala University NIRF 2020 rankings

The smallest listed rank number in 2020 is University #23 with a score of 52.35. Compared with 2019, 2 moved to weaker positions. Rank and score can move in different directions because the final position also depends on other institutions in the category.

Category Rank Score Change from 2019
University 23 52.35 Declined by 1 place
Overall 42 50.71 Declined by 7 places

Kerala University NIRF 2019 rankings

The smallest listed rank number in 2019 is University #22 with a score of 51.21. Compared with 2018, 2 improved. Rank and score can move in different directions because the final position also depends on other institutions in the category.

Category Rank Score Change from 2018
University 22 51.21 Improved by 8 places
Overall 35 51.21 Improved by 12 places

Kerala University NIRF 2018 rankings

The smallest listed rank number in 2018 is University #30 with a score of 47.72. Compared with 2017, 1 moved to weaker positions and 1 stayed unchanged. Rank and score can move in different directions because the final position also depends on other institutions in the category.

Category Rank Score Change from 2017
University 30 47.72 Declined by 1 place
Overall 47 47.72 No rank change

Kerala University NIRF 2017 rankings

The smallest listed rank number in 2017 is University #29 with a score of 43.95. This is the first published ranking year available on this profile.

Category Rank Score
University 29 43.95
Overall 47 43.95

Kerala University NIRF Ranking Trends (2017–2025)

The table compares the first and latest published row for each recurring category. “Latest” means the newest year in which that category appears, which may be earlier than the latest overall edition.

Category First listed result Latest listed result Net rank movement
University #29 · 2017 · 43.95 #25 · 2025 · 59.05 Improved by 4 places
Overall #47 · 2017 · 43.95 #42 · 2025 · 56.26 Improved by 5 places

Kerala University Placement record reported in the official submissions

These institution-reported placement figures come from the official NIRF 2025 Overall submission. Placement rate is placed students divided by graduating students; higher-studies counts are shown separately.

Graduating batch Programme Graduates Placed Placement rate Median salary Higher studies
2023-24 PG, 2 years 1,434 804 56.1% ₹3.48 lakh 630
2023-24 UG, 4 years 0 0 — ₹0.00 lakh 0

Median salary is the middle reported salary among placed graduates; it is not the highest salary. These submitted outcomes are not an independent audit by NIRFRank.

Kerala University Student profile in the 2025 submission

The 2025 submission reports 2,939 students across the programme groups below, including 2,134 women, 822 students from outside the home state, 103 international students and 854 receiving institution scholarship or fee-reimbursement support.

Programme group Total Women Outside state International Institution support
PG [2 Year Program(s)] 2,877 2,091 807 101 833
PG [1 Year Program(s)] 37 25 10 1 12
UG [4 Years Program(s)] 25 18 5 1 9

Kerala University PhD and Sponsored Research Data

The table keeps PhD scholars, awarded doctorates and sponsored-project counts separate. A project count records reported activity; it is not a measure of project value or research impact.

Academic year Full-time PhD scholars Part-time PhD scholars PhDs awarded Sponsored projects
2023-24 1,462 571 762 53
2022-23 — — 743 48
2021-22 — — 722 42

Kerala University NIRF University Ranking Score Breakdown

These five NIRF component scores are out of 100 and explain different parts of the published category score. They describe the selected editions and do not predict a future rank.

Pillar 2017 2025
TLR — Teaching, Learning and Resources 50.61 71.19
RPC — Research and Professional Practice 14.62 29.64
GO — Graduation Outcomes 89.18 94.62
OI — Outreach and Inclusivity 64.47 64.07
PR — Perception 0.89 34.73

How to interpret a missing category-year

“No published row on this profile” means only that this page's imported ranking data has no rank and score for that category and year. It does not prove that Kerala University was ineligible, did not participate or was excluded. Compare ranks within the same NIRF category and between published editions.

Kerala University

Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala · NIRF ID IR-O-U-0260

Government Best in 2025: University #25 2 categories in 2025 2,939 students
Ranking edition · Profile data year NIRF 2025 snapshot
Official-data brief

At a glance

Kerala University is a government institution in Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala. Its best current NIRF result is #25 in University (2025). Its official submission reports a UG placement rate of — and a ₹0L median annual salary for the 2023-24 graduating batch. The latest student-strength disclosure covers 2,939 students.

₹0LUG median salary
2023-24
— UG placed
0 / 0
#42Overall rank
NIRF 2025
2,033PhD scholars
full + part-time

NIRF University journey & 2025 category scoreboard

Rank in every category published for this edition. Open any category to understand its result and movement.

OverallNIRF 2025 Rank#42 Score56.26
Kerala University is ranked #42 in Overall for NIRF 2025 with a score of 56.26.

Placements — official numbers

UG placement rate — → —; latest median salary ₹0L. These are NIRF submission values, not marketing claims.

What happened to the UG batch? 0 graduates

Placement rate not reported.

  • 0 placed — rate not reported
  • 0 chose higher studies
  • 0 reported another outcome
Median salary · 2023-24 ₹0L

Half of the 0 placed graduates earned above this and half earned below.

Seven-year high
₹0L
Placement rate
—

Salary and placement rate, year by year

Median salary (₹L)Placement rate %

What this means: These are graduate outcomes, not staff pay. Median salary means half of placed graduates earned more and half earned less, so one unusually large offer cannot distort it like an average. The placement-rate change cannot be calculated from the published values. The reported median salary moved from ₹0L in 2021-22 to ₹0L in 2023-24.

PG (two-year) placements

Latest three graduating batches.

BatchPlacedRateMedian
2021-22 685 / 1,376 49.8% ₹3.12L
2022-23 881 / 1,914 46.0% ₹3.15L
2023-24 804 / 1,434 56.1% ₹3.48L

Who studies here

Student strength from the NIRF 2025 submission.

Total students2,939All reported programmes
From outside the state28.0%822 students
International103Students from outside India
Women72.6%2,134 students
Full fee reimbursement854Funded by the institution
Largest programme group2,877PG [2 Year Program(s)]

Research & PhD

Research capacity behind the RPC pillar.

PhD scholars2,0331,462 full-time · 571 part-time
PhDs awarded 2023-24762722 in 2021-22 → 762 in 2023-24
Sponsored projects53Peak reported year 2023-24
RPC pillar score29.6Was 14.6 in 2017

Where the institution spends its money

Faculty and staff salary expenditure ₹255.58 Cr → ₹343.24 Cr.

Faculty & staff salaries₹343.24 Cr₹255.58 Cr in 2017-18 → +34%
Academic maintenance₹44.74 CrConsumables and infrastructure upkeep
Lab equipment₹13.44 CrNew equipment in the latest reported year
Library₹9.56 CrBooks, journals and databases

Year by year, 2017-18–2023-24

Library (₹Cr)Lab equipment (₹Cr)Faculty & staff salaries (₹Cr)

Keep these charts separate: This chart is what the institution spends, while the placement chart is what graduates earn. The salary line is the faculty and staff pay bill: ₹255.58 Cr in 2017-18 to ₹343.24 Cr in 2023-24. Latest reported library spending is ₹9.56 Cr and new lab-equipment spending is ₹13.44 Cr.

Official sources

Every deep-profile fact links back to an official NIRF submission.

The five NIRF pillars

Perception (PR) improved most: 0.9 → 34.7. Research (RPC) is the lowest latest pillar.

What the lines mean: Each line is a score out of 100: TLR covers teaching and resources, RPC research, GO graduation outcomes, OI outreach and inclusion, and PR peer perception. Kerala University improved most in Perception (PR) (0.9 → 34.7). Its latest strongest pillar is Graduation Outcomes (GO) at 94.6, while Research (RPC) is lowest at 29.6.

Questions about Kerala University

Ranking searches on the left, wider student questions on the right — every answer is based on the same official submissions.

Kerala University ranking questions

What is Kerala University NIRF ranking 2025?

Kerala University's best listed NIRF 2025 result on NIRFRank is University rank #25 with a score of 59.05.

Which NIRF categories include Kerala University in 2025?

Kerala University appears in the NIRF 2025 University and Overall ranking categories on this profile.

Is Kerala University private or government?

Kerala University is marked as a government institution in the NIRFRank institution registry.

Where is Kerala University located?

Kerala University is listed in Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala.

Students also ask

What is the median placement salary of Kerala University graduates?

The official submission reports a ₹0L median annual salary for placed UG four-year graduates in 2023-24, with 0 of 0 graduates placed (—). The latest PG two-year median is ₹3.48L.

What is Kerala University's best NIRF category?

University is its best current result at #25 in NIRF 2025, with a score of 59.05.

How many students does Kerala University have?

The latest official student-strength disclosure reports 2,939 students, including 822 from outside the state and 103 international students.

Is Kerala University improving in research?

Its NIRF RPC pillar moved from 14.6 in 2017 to 29.6 in 2025. The latest disclosure also reports 2,033 PhD scholars.

How much does Kerala University spend on faculty, labs and its library?

Latest reported expenditure includes ₹343.24 Cr for faculty and staff salaries, ₹13.44 Cr for new lab equipment, and ₹9.56 Cr for the library. These are institution expenses, not graduate placement salaries.

Data source: NIRF, Ministry of Education, Government of India. Ranking cards and deep-profile facts are limited to official data published through the selected 2025 edition.